Post Reply 
CentOS 6 now can be choose
08-04-2011, 04:03 AM
Post: #11
RE: CentOS 6 now can be choose
can't you do something like preupgrade in fedora?
User Tools
Quote this message in a reply


08-04-2011, 05:39 AM
Post: #12
RE: CentOS 6 now can be choose
(08-04-2011 01:49 AM)Boltersdriveer Wrote:  It's nearly impossible to upgrade the OS on a VPS.

-Bolts.

Its possible, but a huge pain and not recommended or supported. I hear Red Hat won't support your system if you do an upgrade from RHEL 5 to 6 rather than a new install. There is just too many differences between the versions; rpm versions being incompatible with each other is a major one.
User Tools
Quote this message in a reply
08-04-2011, 08:34 AM
Post: #13
RE: CentOS 6 now can be choose
(08-04-2011 05:39 AM)f8ll Wrote:  
(08-04-2011 01:49 AM)Boltersdriveer Wrote:  It's nearly impossible to upgrade the OS on a VPS.

-Bolts.

Its possible, but a huge pain and not recommended or supported. I hear Red Hat won't support your system if you do an upgrade from RHEL 5 to 6 rather than a new install. There is just too many differences between the versions; rpm versions being incompatible with each other is a major one.

Yep. You should make backups of your current server and rebuild with the new template the provider provides.

-Bolts.

http://LoomHosts.com - VPS Hosting (Unmanaged). | Reliable, Affordable, Solid.
Join our community! - http://LoomHosts.com.sg/
User Tools
Quote this message in a reply
08-04-2011, 08:44 AM
Post: #14
RE: CentOS 6 now can be choose
With Linux there's kind of a rule, "don't touch it if it is working". For example, the VPS that hosts my blog has a huge RAM usage (250MB or above), but as it's working well and stable (150+ days uptime), I'm not going to touch it Smile
And BTW I don't think I every performed an apt-get upgrade or yum update on a VPS.

My blog
[Image: fs.php]
User Tools
Quote this message in a reply
08-05-2011, 04:30 AM
Post: #15
RE: CentOS 6 now can be choose
(08-04-2011 08:44 AM)gbl08ma Wrote:  With Linux there's kind of a rule, "don't touch it if it is working". For example, the VPS that hosts my blog has a huge RAM usage (250MB or above), but as it's working well and stable (150+ days uptime), I'm not going to touch it Smile
And BTW I don't think I every performed an apt-get upgrade or yum update on a VPS.

yeah, i hear ya. i had a server for minecraft working on a server, and i tried reconfiguring my server, and it ruined the entire vps.
User Tools
Quote this message in a reply
08-05-2011, 06:09 AM
Post: #16
RE: CentOS 6 now can be choose
I have CentOS for my Crappy Shared Hosting isk what version though. I think 4, if thats there.

VPS 25 by http://FREEVPS.US
Akshay Productions - Technology Tips, Tricks, Tutorials, and more!
[Image: mybbsig.php]
User Tools
Quote this message in a reply
08-05-2011, 11:24 AM
Post: #17
RE: CentOS 6 now can be choose
(08-04-2011 08:44 AM)gbl08ma Wrote:  With Linux there's kind of a rule, "don't touch it if it is working". For example, the VPS that hosts my blog has a huge RAM usage (250MB or above), but as it's working well and stable (150+ days uptime), I'm not going to touch it Smile
And BTW I don't think I every performed an apt-get upgrade or yum update on a VPS.

I have the opposite attitude, especially on an OpenVZ VPS where you never have to reboot for a kernel upgrade. I upgrade everything as soon as possible. Of course I'm confident I can fix whatever problems I encounter.

But do whatever works for you Smile
User Tools
Quote this message in a reply
08-06-2011, 09:37 PM
Post: #18
RE: CentOS 6 now can be choose
(08-05-2011 11:24 AM)f8ll Wrote:  I have the opposite attitude, especially on an OpenVZ VPS where you never have to reboot for a kernel upgrade. I upgrade everything as soon as possible. Of course I'm confident I can fix whatever problems I encounter.

But do whatever works for you Smile

Ahem, firstly you can't run your own kernel in OpenVZ. Secondly, unless you have Ksplice Uptrack (3.95$ per month), you'd need to reboot.

-Bolts.

http://LoomHosts.com - VPS Hosting (Unmanaged). | Reliable, Affordable, Solid.
Join our community! - http://LoomHosts.com.sg/
User Tools
Quote this message in a reply
08-07-2011, 01:38 AM
Post: #19
RE: CentOS 6 now can be choose
(08-06-2011 09:37 PM)Boltersdriveer Wrote:  Ahem, firstly you can't run your own kernel in OpenVZ. Secondly, unless you have Ksplice Uptrack (3.95$ per month), you'd need to reboot.

-Bolts.

He didn't say anything about running his own kernel. Just a kernel upgrade (aka OS upgrade, as i understand. I'm pretty new to linux).

Thân,

iCarrot.
User Tools
Quote this message in a reply
08-07-2011, 11:02 AM
Post: #20
RE: CentOS 6 now can be choose
(08-06-2011 09:37 PM)Boltersdriveer Wrote:  Ahem, firstly you can't run your own kernel in OpenVZ. Secondly, unless you have Ksplice Uptrack (3.95$ per month), you'd need to reboot.

-Bolts.

That's exactly why you never have to reboot Wink

A fork for Ksplice will probably show up soon now that Oracle bought them

@iCarrot
Thanks for covering my back! Smile A kernel upgrade is not necessarily an OS upgrade however, it just updates the kernel. Though it can bring new features and greater compatibility so you can see it as an OS upgrade in that regard. But you have no control over the kernel in an OpenVZ container - you can upgrade it or install your own. You pretty much don't have to worry about it.

Basically what I was getting at is that since there is no kernel to upgrade, you never really have a reason to reboot.
User Tools
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:



User(s) browsing this thread:
1 Guest(s)